Please note: Our customer service centers are not taking credit cards payments at this time.
To make a payment, you can access Manage My Account or these other Payment Options.

Board of Trustees


A five-person Board of Trustees governs our natural gas and electric utility. The Board consists of citizens representing the four geographical quadrants of the city of San Antonio. Trustees must reside within the quadrant that they represent. Board members serve for a term of five years and are eligible to serve an additional term. The mayor of San Antonio serves as an ex-officio member.

The Board meets on the last Monday of each month at 1:00 p.m. in the Board Meeting Room located on the first floor of the CPS Energy Main Office Building located at 145 Navarro.

Contact CPS Energy's Board of Trustees:

  • Email:
  • Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1771 (Mail Drop: 101001), San Antonio, TX 78296-1771

John Steen


Board Chair

John Steen represents the northeast quadrant of CPS Energy's service area. He is an attorney who previously served as the 108th Texas Secretary of State and as a commissioner of the Texas Department of Public Safety.

Dr. Homer Guevara Jr.


Vice Chair

Dr. Homer Guevara Jr., an economics and government professor at Northwest Vista College, represents the southwestern quadrant of CPS Energy's service territory.


Derrick Howard



Derrick Howard, the Executive Director of the Freeman Coliseum, represents the southeast quadrant of CPS Energy’s service area.

Edward Kelley



Edward Kelley represents the northwest quadrant of CPS Energy's service area. Kelley served as President and CEO of USAA Real Estate before retiring in 2005 after 17 years of service.

Mayor Ron Nirenberg

Mayor Taylor

Ex-Officio Member

Ron Nirenberg, as current mayor of San Antonio, serves as an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees. He will remain on the Board through his current mayoral term.